top of page


Title:  Sanditon and Other Stories (Everyman's Library Classics Series)

Author:  Jane Austen 



Format: Hardcover 

Book condition:  New 

Cover:  New.  Dust jacket is protected with Mylar cover.  


Publisher: ‎ Everyman's Library; reprint edition, 1996 

Hardcover: ‎ 502 pages

ISBN-10: ‎ 9780679447191

ISBN-13: ‎ 978-0679447191

Dimensions: ‎ 5.3 x 8.3 inches


Readers of Jane Austen’s six great novels are left hungering for more, and more there is: the marvelous unpublished manuscripts she left behind, collected here.

Sanditon might have been Austen’s greatest novel had she lived to finish it. Its subject matter astonishes: here is Austen observing the birth pangs of the culture of commerce, as her country-bred heroine, a foolish baronet, a family of hypochondriacs, and a mysterious West Indian heiress collide against the background hum of real-estate development at a seaside resort.

The Watsons, begun in 1804 but never completed, tells the story of a young woman who was raised by a rich aunt and who finds herself shipped back to the comparative poverty and social clumsiness of her own family.

The novella Lady Susan is a miniature masterpiece, featuring Austen’s only villainous protagonist. Lady Susan’s subtle, single-minded, and ruthless pursuit of power makes the reader regret that Austen never again wrote a novel with a scheming widow for its heroine.

The special joy of this collection lies in Austen’s juvenilia–tiny novels, the enchantingly funny Love and Freindship, comic fragments, and a (very) partial history of England–romping miniatures that she wrote in her teens. Their high spirits, hilarity, and control offer delicious proof that Austen was an artist “born, not made.”


Thank you!       


Sanditon and Other Stories by Jane Austen (Everyman's Library)

    Payment icons.jpg
    bottom of page